Grenade Book Review

I think it is true that books are a window into the world. I have always been inspired to read different books. But one book I felt like stood out to me was the book Grenade.

The  book Grenade is by Alan Gratz. It’s a story about a boy named Hiediki in Okinawa, Japan during WW2. He is a normal citizen and his goal is to survive the American bombings and to find his sister. Do you want to know how it ends? Well I’m not going to give any spoilers. If you want to know more,  please read the book.

I really liked the book because I have only seen the Allies point of view. But this book made me see a whole new point of view.It also made me realize that just because one person from a region is evil doesn’t mean that that whole region is evil.After reading this book I thought about a lot of things. And after hearing Hiediki’s point of view, it made me think about all the people who are mean to me.  It made me realize that they are probably not a bad person but just influenced by something bad. To quote Mr Miyagi from Karate kid:

-“There is no such thing as bad student, only bad teacher”.

After I read Grenade, I decided to try to not be rude to anyone, because I don’t know how things are going for them. This book has helped me have a better outlook on life and become a better person. And as a result, helped me help other people around me. It’s interesting how one book can make your environment a better place. I guess that’s why people say you should read a lot.

Creative commons

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *