Presentation

All people have something they are scared of. But bravery is not never having fear but to summon the courage to fight it. And one of the most common fear is stage fright. So today I’m going to talk about a presentation I did in front of my whole school.

I had prepared for a whole week and on the day of the presentation I was ready to present. I waited for about 10 minutes for some other announcements. The first 9 minutes were fine. I felt confident, ready, brave. But it is always that last minute that gets to you. I surprisingly didn’t feel too nervous but I still had some fear inside of me. And then my name was called out to present. Walking to the stage is the hardest part. You can feel everyone looking at you. It was harder to walk to the stage alone than with a partner. Because when you walk with 1 or more people you have a feeling that you are not alone and that the attention is split between the 2 of you. But once you get to the stage everything is fine. The fear subsides a lot. And then I presented.

I presented about my maternal uncle’s Indian wedding. It was a brand new topic for most of the people in the audience so there was a lot of interest. I think that is what made my presentation unique.

Then when I finished the speech everyone clapped loudly. This was my first time presenting to an audience so it felt really awesome. When I walked back to my seat I learned 4 things.

1. It is normal to feel scared on your first time presenting to a large audience.

2. Looking at the audience makes y0u more focused and less scared.

3. The most important of all. When you are on stage there is only one thing you can’t do and that is show fear. No matter how hard it is you have to look strong.

4. Preparation makes all the difference!

Here is a photo of me presenting.

By me

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *